I don’t give a Hootenanny!

My 8 year old LOVES french toast.  I, on the other hand, do not enjoy making it. This reicpe is the answer if you like the taste of french toast, but not all the time and effort to make it.

I found the gist of this recipe on Pinterest a very long time ago. When I went back to find the original source it was one of those pins that was only a picture with a recipe in the comment.   I mostly followed that recipe, but made it my own.  Here’s what I did:

Hootenanny

Ingredients:

1 cup flour

6 eggs

1 cup milk

1/4 tsp. salt

2 tablespoons cinnamon powder (or more or less to taste)

100_7777 100_7778

Directions:

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.  Grease a 9 x 13 pan.  Use a whisk to mix all the ingredients well. Pour the batter into the pan and bake for 25 minutes. As you can see from the photos, it bakes up really crazy, so you might want to remove one of your oven racks to make sure it has enough room to bake! Mine ended up hitting the heating element on top just a bit, so we a little burnt piece to cut off. Not a huge deal, but I’ll know next time.  We cut it up into sticks and served with syrup and powdered sugar. Easy, fun and delicious!

100_7780 100_7781

One thought on “I don’t give a Hootenanny!

Leave a comment