Sausage and White Bean Soup

Cool weather = warm, hearty soup. 

Actually, this recipe could be tweaked in several different ways, one of them being making it more of a thick, goulash instead of a soup. Either way, it’s really good, and really easy – and – it’s hearty enough to fill the bellies of the men in your life.  I started with this excellent recipe I found on pinterest.  I ended up straying a bit (er, a bunch?) from the recipe, and it still ended up delicious.  Here’s how I made mine:

Ingredients:

1/2 pound ground sausage, browned

minced garlic

olive oil

carrots, onions, green beans (I skipped this, but I think it would be good with some sliced carrots)

various spices — onion salt, oregano, italian seasoning, crushed red pepper

2 cans chicken broth (about 6 cups)

1 can diced tomatoes

1 can white northern beans, drained and rinsed

1 cup uncooked elbow macaroni

salt and pepper

parmesean cheese

Directions:

In a large pot, heat some olive oil. Add some minced garlic (I think I used about a tablespoon or so).   If you have any fresh vegetables, such as carrots, add them now.  Next, add the chicken broth, diced tomotoes, beans, sausage and spices. I let this come to a boil and cooked it for about 20 minutes on medium high stirring frequently. Then I added the macaroni, salt and pepper and cooked on high for another 15 minutes or so, until the pasta was done. This made our soup very thick. If you prefer your soup to be thinner, just cook it on low for a longer time. I served this yummy soup with corn bread muffins and everyone was happy!

Delicious Sausage, white bean and pasta soup

Delicious Sausage, white bean and pasta soup

Leave a Reply

