Peanut Butter Krispie Bon Bons

O.M.G. Delicious! I knew I wanted to try this recipe as soon as I saw it! Peanut butter, chocolate, rice krispies – what’s not to love?

Here’s what not to love: this recipe is labor intensive.  It takes fo-eva, but the result is worth it if you have the time.

120112182302_01

Ingredients:

2 cups Peanut butter

1/2 cup butter

1 tsp vanilla

3 cups rice krispie cereal

4 cups powdered sugar

2 bags of semi-sweet chocolate chips

1 Tablespoon vegetable oil

 

Melt the peanut butter and butter in the microwave. Stir in the vanilla.  Slowly add the rice cereal and powdered sugar.  Mix very well.  Form into one inch balls – firmly packed. If you have helpers like I do, just make sure they get the balls very good and compact. Place the balls on a cookie sheet and freeze about 30 minutes.  Melt the chocolate chips and oil using a double broiler (or in my case, careful use of a saucepan). Use a toothpick (or like me, end up using your fingers!) to coat the balls in chocolate. Place the chocolate peanut butter balls on wax paper and chill about 1-2 hours in the fridge.

 

120112184321_01 120212132813

This was actually my first batch — they weren’t that pretty, but trust me, they were delicious. As I got more comfortable with the chocolate coating, they got prettier 🙂

Leave a Reply

