Reese’s Cup Rice Krispies

A warning before you make these: You will want to make them again. and again. and again. Unless peanut butter chocolate, gooey, crispy yumminess is not your thing. In that case, you’re safe. Just make a batch for your best friend. Or someone who is really mad at you. It just might make them change their mind. ūüôā

First, I got the recipe right here.¬† FoodSnots.com is now RecipeSnobs.com. I usually don’t like snobs, but in this case, I forgive her!

Ingredient List:

6 cups Cocoa Krispies Cereal

16-18 Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups, diced

5 Tbs

3 Tbs light Karo syrup

1 (10 ounce) package plus 2 heaping cups miniature marshmallows

1/3 cup peanut butter

1/2 cup chocolate chips

Ingredients

Now, as you can see in the above photo, I used plain generic Rice Krispie Cereal. You should, too. Save a buck or two.

Directions: This is important! I didn’t listen to the LARGE BOWL instruction last time¬†I made rice krispie treats. It wasn’t pretty. Use a large bowl for goodness sakes, and mix the cut up Reese’s¬†cups and the SIX cups of rice krispie cereal.

A Large Bowl makes a Large difference.

 

Spray or grease a 9×13 pan and move on the¬†marshmallow melting!

So, again, please use a large pot. It really makes a difference. Am I the only one who makes these dumb mistakes? Melt the butter and mix in the Karo syrup, then mix in the marshmallows. Keep stirring until it’s smooth. I did this on medium heat, but really, as long as you are there watching it and don’t put it on high and scorch it, this detail is not important. It’s certainly not as important as the size mixing bowl you use. Just in case you were wondering.

This is a big ole pot! Take note!

Ok, stay with me, you are almost done. Once the marshmallow¬†mixture is smooth, take it off the heat source and slowly fold in the cereal and Reese¬†cup mixture. By fold in, I mean add a little at a time. Once it’s a good and mixed up and gooey, press it in into your pan. If you stop right here, you will be happy. If you go ahead and follow the next couple of steps, you will be ecstatic. I won’t lie, for amatuers like myself, these next couple of steps gave me a headache. Basically, all you need to do is melt the peanut butter and the chocolate chips (separately, that is important!)¬†and then put them in a little plastic bag and snip off a corner. It’s harder and messier than it sounds. But just do it, and get messy, and then drizzle the peanut butter and then the chocolate onto your rice krispie treats. I had to put mine in the fridge for about ten minutes. My family loved me a lot more that day. Ah, good times.

so good.

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Reese’s Cup Rice Krispies

Leave a Reply

