Outside-in burgers

One of my favorite, (non-diet friendly) meals.

 

I’ve seen this adaptations of this pretty much everywhere. Here’s how I do my outside-in burgers.

First, figure out how many people you will be preparing a burger for. You will need a little more meat than usual, but not as much as you might think.  For instance, if you were serving 2 people, have enough hamburger meat as if you were making 2 1/2 – 3 burgers. I like to season my burgers with salt and pepper of course, but I usually throw a little Dale’s sauce or John Boy and Billy’s sauce on the meat while I’m making the patties, too. Using the two person example, you would flatten out 4 thin patties. You don’t want to make them too thin or they will fall apart, but if you make them too thick, they will be almost impossible to eat. Make two of your patties a little wider than the other two. The smaller patties will be the ones you put your “outside” goodies on. I keep this really simple. I like bacon and cheese, which I’m sure you could already tell if you have been reading my blog for very long. You could put just about what ever you wanted on here, so go for it! I under cook the bacon just a tad but still tear it and crumble over the smaler patties along with a good ole slice of cheese. Then I carefully put the larger patty over the smaller and try as best I can to pinch them together. I pan fry mine for about 10 – 15 minutes on each side, but you could probably grill them very carefully, too.  To finish cooking them, I put them in the oven on 400 for about 15 or 20 minutes or until done in the center. Decadent, maybe. But totally worth it.

That’s right, paper plates, baby!

mmmmm, mmmm

 

Leave a Reply

