Crockpot Chicken Cordon Bleu

This little recipe got mixed reviews at my house. Myself and my friend Mandy gave it the thumbs up, my hubby gave it the non-commital thumbs half up half down.

I was excited to find a Chicken Cordon Bleu recipe for the crockpot because it’s one of those things that is usually so time consuming. For my version of this recipe from chef-in-training.com, I used:

3 large frozen boneless chicken breasts (from a frozen bag of chicken)

1 can of cream of chicken soup

3/4 cup of milk

about a half of pack of sliced ham lunchmeat

about 1 1/2 cups of shredded mozzerella cheese (it was all I had on hand at the time)

1 small 6oz box of stuffing mix

I used less milk because I definitely didn’t want this to turn out soggy. Ewwwwwwww. So, I mixed the the milk and cream of chicken soup together. I put a layer of this mixture on the bottom of my crockpot (about half of the mixture) to make sure the bottom was covered with this mixture. Then I put the 3 frozen chicken breasts on top. After that, I simply put a layered the ham, cheese and stuffing mix on top. You can melt a little bit of butter and drizzle it on top if you want. I put mine on low and cooked for about 6-7 hours. The only issue I had was the stuffing mix/bread crumbs got a little too browned for our taste. This is probably a result of having been cooked just a hair too long. Anyway, I think this recipe is worth a try!

 

Leave a Reply

