Homemade Ice Cream

A few weeks ago, when the weather was more summer-like, we had a wonderful time using our new homemade ice-cream maker. We received this gift from one of my cousins – and not only was she so generous to give us the machine, but also a couple of recipes to get us started! Thanks, Ms. Judy Pickering!

Chocolate Ice Cream (for icecream makers)

1/2 gallon chocolate milk

1 can sweetened condensed milk

1 tub of cool whip

And just follow the directions on your machine. Mine was super easy and once I had added the ice and rock salt in layers, I just let the machine do it’s thing for about 40 minutes while I tackled other chores – like loving on and chasing these beautiful babies.

I was very intimidated by this process because I had never done this before. Luckily for me, it was just as easy as everyone I consulted said it would be.I love the idea, and have hopes of the homemade icecream-making being a new tradition for the children when Spring finally pops through the dark winter clouds. What makes you feel better than being outside eating delicious ice cream YOU made? The children sure were satisfied that afternoon…

2 thoughts on “Homemade Ice Cream

Leave a Reply

