Not my favorite casserole…

Yeah, I admit it.

If my husband doesn’t say over and over how good the dinner I prepared for him is, and if he doesn’t have a second helping and he just says something generic like, “It’s good.”  Or even worse, he starts offering alternative or suggestions for adding ingredients, I take it personally and end up deflated. I know it’s silly, but that’s just the way it is. So, Sunday I had a great plan to try this new recipe. I mean, the name of the recipe sounds sooooooo good. Cheesy. Chicken. Ranch. what’s not to love? Don’t get me wrong, I did like it, but maybe I’m just not excited about casseroles. Or maybe it just reminded me of chicken tetrazinni, but not in a good way – in a I’d rather have chicken tetrazinni way. I don’t know. The good thing was that I had two sweet assistants helping me make it and my oldest son loved the casserole.

Look at my helper! She could have a career in the dramatic arts. Love her. Here, she is stirring and simmering the evaporated milk, flour and ranch seasoning.

Her brother came to help not long after. He made sure we started the pasta and added the chicken and some cheese.

A good thing about this recipe is that it is done fairly quick. I had already cooked and cubed the chicken earlier in the day because I made Buffalo Chicken Dip for lunch****. I boiled several large chicken breasts and they served three purposes: Some of the chicken was reserved for the dip, some reserved for this recipe AND I ended up with some delicious broth I used for the Crockpot Potato Soup I made today. Winning!

Here is the finished result:

****I prepared my buffalo chicken dip as follows:

1 1/2 – 2 good sized chicken breasts shredded

1 8 oz pkg cream cheese

1/2 cup + Franks Hot Buffalo Sauce

1/2 cup Ranch dressing

Shredded mozzerella cheese (about a cup)

Bake at 350 for 20 minutes.

One thought on “Not my favorite casserole…

  1. Pingback: Crockpot Potato Soup | TheMFresh's Blog

Leave a Reply

