An update on my reading adventures…

I recently decided that I wanted to read more. I have always enjoyed reading, but I never made time read. I don’t know why, but Lent is like New Year’s to me. I don’t usually make New Year’s Resolutions, but when Lent comes around, I think of all kind of things I want and need to improve on. While I usually keep my Lenten sacrificies to myself – more on that in another post – I also think of things I want to work on in general. So, this year is the year I am going to allow myself to read! The nice thing is, I can choose what I want to read. The not-so-nice thing is, I have terrible taste in books. Not just books, really, movies, too. Not that I get to go see movies often, but my husband and my friend Mandy can verify, if you want to see a good movie, do not let me choose it. And I now I’m off topic. Typical.

I am choosing to read books I should have read in High School but for a variety of reasons, I never did. I am also choosing to read books I enjoy. The ones I enjoy take priority. In addition to the other books I’ve read this year, I’m currently in the middle of

Live Wire by Harlan Coben (yes, I really enjoy Harlan Coben books)

Organized Simplicity by Tsh Oxenreider

and…
Les Miserables by Victor Hugo
Why Les Mis? I have no idea. I feel way out of my league reading it, but I’m thankful I’m reading it on the Kindle, because that way I have easy access to a dictionary.
Hey, at least I admit it! I think I will have to make it a goal to finish it by the end of year, because I feel like I’ve been reading it forever and I’m only 4% through it. We’ll see.

And I also have a stack of peridocals that I love flipping through. I think this reading thing is therapy to me. It is the first thing I’ve made sure to do for myself in a long time. And I’m glad I’m doing it.

Leave a Reply

