Bang Bang

Shrimp, that is.

I made the decision some time ago that I would try to start broadening my cooking horizons. This due much in part to my dear husband, who believed it was a serious roadblock in our marriage that I (or he, has the case may have been), prepared the same meals over and over and over and over and over and… you get the idea. My plan to try new things in the kitchen was aided by a little website called PINTEREST.  If you haven’t already checked it out, you should give it a gander. It is my new favorite place for web content. Through pinterest, I have found many new recipes that have actually made it to my dinner table. And most of them have had rave reviews! The latest was for Bang Bang Shrimp, ala Bonefish Grill. This is something I love to do — recreate my favorite restaurant meals. There a several reasons we do not go out to eat frequently.

1 – The cost. We continue to try to control our spending, many times we fail miserably, but going out to eat is the most obvious and easy thing to let go of when you are low on cash.

2 – The children. I know, how rude is it of me to blame my sweet little darlings for inhibiting us from going out to eat? Well, if I’m rude for blaming them, they are SUPER rude for their behavior at restaurants. and anywhere else in public. where people glare at you unmercilessly. Shame, shame.

3 – I worked at a restaurant. I know what goes on behind those doors. It’s not always pretty.

4 – Do I really need to go on?

Back to the shrimp. The recipe I used (and tweaked) for my family can be found here. I followed the recipe for the most part, but I did make it a little easier for me. Here’s what I did:

Bang Bang Shrimp

1 lb of peeled, deveined shrimp

For the sauce:

1/2 cup mayo (I used full fat); 5-6 teaspoons Sriracha Chili Sauce (I found mine at Walmart in the Asian food section); 1 teaspoon sugar; 1 teaspoon rice vinegar.   **You may want to adjust the Chili Sauce to your preferred spicy level. We enjoy our food to be pretty spicy, if you don’t want yours to be as spicy use less**  Just mix all the ingredients together in a bowl with a lid and set it aside.

For the Breading:

I was really lazy and picked up a box of Tempura breading. I liked it, and thought is was a more interesting texture with the seafood than my traditional flour mixture for fried chicken. I’m sure the breading mixture the recipe called for is good, too.

While heating up my electric skillet to 350° with regular vegetable oil, I prepared an assembly line of deep dish pasta bowls. I mixed an egg and milk in the first, put the tempura breading in the next and had my electric skillet at the ready for the next stop. I double breaded my shrimp because I just like it that way. I’m sure you could skip the extra breading and it would be fine. So, I use tongs to dip the shrimp in the egg mixture, then into the tempura mixture and back in the egg mixture and one final swirl in the tempura mixture. I did put the breaded shrimp in the fridge for about 15-30 minutes just to make sure it stuck.

After that, I just fried the shrimp, let them drain on some paper towels and then sent them swimming in the sauce bowl. I served mine with rice, and it made quite the meal.

 

 

One thought on “Bang Bang

  1. Pingback: The Best Lenten Meal yet… | TheMFresh's Blog

Leave a Reply

