Breakfast Bars

As I’ve matured, I have realized just how important breakfast is. However, breakfast can be a challenge at my house. I need something easy and fast, and something my children will gobble up with little fuss. They loved store bought cereal bars, but I am trying to do more homemade meals for a variety of reasons. I had great success with these great oatmeal cereal bars. However, I had to double/triple the recipe in order to make it work for my family. Even when I make a big batch of these, they don’t last more than a couple of days. And that’s a good thing!

Ingredient List:

6-7 Tablespoons of chocolate chips/peanut butter chips

8-9 Tablespoons of Creamy Peanut butter (I literally use a tablespoon because it doubles as a stirrer – the less dishes the better!)

A splash of milk

1 1/2 – 2 cups of oats (I use regular oats)

1 1/2 Tablespoons of vanilla

A handful or two of chocolate chips/peanut butter chips/butterscotch chips

Directions:

Put the first three ingredients in a microwave safe bow and microwave about 30-40 seconds. Stir well. Slowly add the oats and cut in the vanilla. Add enough oats that the mixture is fairly dry. Spread the mixture in a 8×11.5 inch glass pan and refrigerate until the bars set up. It only take an hour or two, but I usually make these at night and they are ready for breakfast in the morning!

While that recipe was easy and my children loved it, I wanted to try other ideas, too. So I found this very cool recipe.

Ingredients:

1/4 cup butter

1/4 cup honey

1/3 cup packed brown sugar

2 cups quick cooking oats

1 cup crispy rice cereal

1/2 teaspoon vanilla

2 tablespoons mini chocolate chips/peanut butter chips/butterscotch chips/raisins/etc

Directions:

Heat the butter, brown sugar and honey in a small saucepan until the brown sugar in dissolved. Mix the rice krispies and oats in a large bowl together. Add honey/sugar/butter mixture to the krispy/oat mixture and add in vanilla. Make sure to mix all of that together really well. The next part is tricky. I do not have jelly roll pan. I used a glass baking dish becauase that’s all I had. You want to really pack the mixture in to make sure it’s good and thick. It’s kind of messy because of the sticky, messy honey. But, once you do that, let them cool and you are done! Mine turned out a bit too thin, but I will be trying this again. They were gone before breakfast even came around! The children thought they were dessert! And so did their Dad!

 

 

2 thoughts on “Breakfast Bars

  1. Pingback: Reese’s Peanut Butter Freezer Pie | TheMFresh's Blog

  2. Pingback: Easy Breakfast (or Lunch) Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Muffins | TheMFresh's Blog

Leave a Reply

